NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board Members

NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board members are selected based on their scientific background and specific expertise, their known cross-disciplinary interests and affinity with stimulating novel initiatives. They typically have a broad knowledge of the Dutch scientific community and an interest in societal challenges. The NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board members together cover a wide range of scientific fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Current members of the NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board:

Prof. Carel Stolker
Leiden University
Area of Expertise: Private Law

Prof. Anne Beaulieu
University of Groningen
Area of Expertise: Interaction between innovation, technology and culture; interdisciplinary collaboration; energy systems in contemporary society; big data in context; data visualisations and visual culture

Prof. Milene Bonte
Maastricht University
Area of Expertise: Neural basis of Speech perception, Reading and Developmental dyslexia, Developmental cognitive neuroscience, Language development

Prof. Sven Dupré
Utrecht University
Area of Expertise: History of Art, Science and Technology; History of Knowledge; Technical Art History; History of Humanities; Conservation and Restoration

Dr. Sui Lin Goei
VU University Amsterdam
Area of Expertise: Inclusive education; Multi-Tiered System of Support within education; School Wide Positive Behavior Support (SWPBS); children with differential educational needs

Prof. Julia Kursell
University of Amsterdam
Area of Expertise: Musicology, Slavic Philology and Comparative Literature

Prof. Fred A. Muller
Erasmus University Rotterdam
Area of Expertise: Philosophy of natural science

Dr. Bernike Pasveer
Maastricht University
Area of Expertise: Science & Technology Studies; medical sociology and anthropology; health, technology and care; death & dying; home, care and belonging.

Prof. Erik Rietveld
University of Amsterdam UMC & University of Twente
Area of Expertise: Philosophy of Embodied Cognition, Philosophy of Ecological Psychology, Visual Art, Experimental Architecture, Art-Science 

Prof. Leonard Rutgers
University of Utrecht
Area of Expertise: Archaeology, Population Genetics, Radiocarbon Dating, Ancient History, Judaic Studies, Patristics, Late Antiquity

Prof. Sonja Smets
University of Amsterdam
Area of Expertise: Logic, Quantum Theory, Language Philosophy

Dr. Eliza Steinbock
Maastricht University
Area of Expertise: (Trans)Gender Studies, Sexuality, Film and Visual Arts, Critical Theories of Embodiment, Continental Philosophy.

Prof. Behnam Taebi
Delft University of Technology
Area of Expertise: Ethics of Technology, Energy Ethics, Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI)

Dr. Linnet Taylor
Tilburg University
Area of Expertise: Big Data, AI, Technology Politics and Governance, International Development

Prof. Claes de Vreese
University of Amsterdam
Area of Expertise: Political Communication

Prof. Franjo Weissing
University of Groningen
Area of Expertise: Theoretical Biology; Behaviour, Ecology, Evolution; Evolutionary Game Theory; Dynamical Systems; Cultural Evolution; Evolutionary Systems Biology

Former NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board members
Prof. Emile Aarts, Eindhoven University of Technology
Prof. Klaas van Berkel, University of Groningen
Prof. Hendrik Blockeel,  University of Leuven
Prof. Rens Bod, University of Amsterdam
Prof. Mieke Boon, University of Twente
Prof. Johan Bouma, Wageningen University
Prof. Annelien Bredenoord, UMC Utrecht
Dr. Tini Colijn-Hooymans, Wageningen University
Prof. Dirk van Delft, Leiden University
Prof. José van Dijck, University of Amsterdam
Prof. Robert Dijkgraaf, University of Amsterdam
Prof. Pearl Dykstra, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Prof. Martha Frederiks, Utrecht University
Prof. Annette de Groot, University of Amsterdam
Dr. Babette Hellemans, University of Groningen
Dr. Esther Jansma, Cultural Heritage Agency
Prof. André Knottnerus, Maastricht University
Prof. Jan van Leeuwen, Utrecht University
Prof. Cees Leeuwis, Wageningen University
Dr. James McAllister, Leiden University
Prof. Amade M’Charek, University of Amsterdam
Prof. Sijbolt Noorda, Amsterdam
Prof. Barbara Oomen, Utrecht University
Dr. Roland Pierik, University of Amsterdam
Prof. Rick van der Ploeg, VU University Amsterdam
Prof. Alexander Rinnooy Kan, University of Amsterdam
Prof. Jan Willem Romeijn, University of Groningen
Prof. Wim Saris, Maastricht University
Prof. Marten Scheffer, Wageningen University
Prof. Louise Gunning-Schepers, University of Amsterdam
Dr. Peter Tindemans, Euroscience The Hague
Prof. Jan Vandenbroucke, Leiden University Medical Center
Prof. Rineke Verbrugge, University of Groningen
Prof. Sally Wyatt, Maastricht University